SORRY

Growing up, I was not allowed to play video games at home.  My mom was very adamant that she wanted me to spend as little time in front of a TV as possible.  This is perhaps why I have never developed a love playing video games.  However, I pretty much owned every board game ever created as a child.  This was how I would spend my days, playing board game after board game with friends and family.  However, the one game I still love to play is “Sorry”.  I don’t know if it was the fact that I truly loved saying SORRY every time I knocked someone to the beginning of the board, but out of all the board games I played throughout my childhood, it is the only one I would still play at any given chance.

Image

 

When I think about what it is that made this game so much fun for me, I can picture what made me smile and laugh throughout my experiences.  I believe that the cards being face down gave the game a thrill for me.   There were so many different options of what the cards could tell you to do, so when it was your turn to pick a card you would pray to get a good pick and not have to go backwards, and pray that your competition would get all bad cards.  Those cards were like your destiny.  Looking back, I realize I never really liked dice and to this day I prefer to avoid games that require dice.  With dice, you can only go forward, and some people could truly be better at rolling dice than others.  The many options that the cards possessed gave the game so much thrill,  as long as they were shuffled properly.  To this day, I believe it is the best board game ever created.  Anyone want to play sorry?

5 comments
  1. allangolden said:

    I had forgotten about this game until I was a camp counselor a few summers ago. This was most of my campers favorite game, and it quickly became one of mine as well. This was one of the few games that they did not try to kill each other playing, which when you have to watch 30 kids at once is quite nice (especially since they always want you to play). Anyway I agree in the uniqueness that moving with the cards provided this game. It is also so much fun (and cruel) to knock someone’s piece back to start when they are about to enter the safe zone. I would much rather play this game than most the board games out there that involve dice. And yes, it was a lot of fun to yell SORRY!

  2. khausoul said:

    I have a hard time agreeing with the statement that “some people could truly be better at rolling dice than others.” In my opinion, picking a card is just as random as rolling a dice. But nonetheless, I think what makes Sorry such a great game is the interaction with other players. Many board games just have you advancing from spot to spot and trying to get to the end in a racing fashion. In sorry, you have the ability to send people back and completely demoralize them. It is that interaction with other players that invests so much emotion into the game. It is no surprise to me that this game is still popular.

  3. I can definitely agree that some people really seem to be better at rolling dice than others. I mean there are just those people that seam to always have the lucky touch. But I can’t really say that I dislike games that involve rolling dice. Really, I just enjoy competition with friends and family, be it rolling dice or drawing cards. SORRY, I think, does a great job of bringing out the players’ competive side throughout the course of the game. When someone lays that “Sorry” on you, but they really aren’t sorry at all, you want to do all that you can to get revenge and make sure he or she doesn’t win. Its supposed to be just fun and games, but winning is what’s important in my family. The way SORRY brings out the best, and the worst, of our competitve sides is what truly makes it such a fun game.

  4. Asia Bond said:

    I am not the complete opposite. I am not a board game player. I am not sure exactly what it was, but I think it was the fact that it appeared so boring to me. I was always an active child that like to do more action type things and sitting down on the floor playing board games was not an activity that I would partake on. I am not gonna lie, I did like to roll the dice and my mother was quite worried about that part. I also think that it may have been that I was an only child and it was always my mom and I. Boardgames are such a classic that does not seem to get old and advancements are not needed. When I think of boardgames I think of families playing them together on Family Fun Night, which is why I think boardgames will always be a crowds favorites. They will always be “in” and generations to come will be exposed to these games.

  5. Terrance said:

    I grew up playing board games; my mom used them a lot when I was very young to help perfect my reading. Monopoly got boring, and Life kind of took a while, but Sorry was a very fun game that wasn’t super long. Also, when playing with others, people’s turns don’t take forever the way they did playing Scrabble. My mom and I are very competitive, and I recall my 7 year old self becoming very testy when I lost. Once my younger sister got old enough to do more than use the pieces for her barbie houses, the 3 of us had a fun time playing and being competitive. I like it mostly because there is not much strategy, you either pull the right card or you don’t. The game that replaced Sorry for us was Aggravation, with all the marbles. Even more competitive, even more fun. But Sorry will always be a classic!

Leave a Reply

