Rubik’s Cube

Last weekend I went home and decided to clean out my old toy chest (anything to procrastinate me from studying! haha). As I was looking through my old toys, I came across a Rubik’s Cube. I started remembering how obsessed I was with it and how I used to get so frustrated with it and how when I would get 2 sides I thought I was the coolest and raddest kid in town. The feeling of accomplishing two of the six sides motivated me to continue on and solve the whole puzzle. I’ll never forget the day I finally got it. I was sitting in my room just playing around with it and then when I got, I jumped up with the greatest excitement and ran around my house yelling ‘I GOT IT! I GOT! I SOLVED THE RUBIK’S CUBE!! MOM! DAD! LOOK LOOK!!!” I even took it to school the next day to show everyone! I remember feeling like nothing could beat this moment and that anything was possible, which especially to a young child is an amazing feeling to have. Then, I started thinking how was the Rubik’s Cube created? And what made it so addicting and popular?! 

The Rubik’s Cube is the most popular puzzle in history. There is only one right answer and a million wrong ones. Erno Rubik, the creator of the cube, said, “”It was wonderful, to see how, after only a few turns, the colors became mixed, apparently in random fashion. It was tremendously satisfying to watch this color parade. Like after a nice walk when you have seen many lovely sights you decide to go home, after a while I decided it was time to go home, let us put the cubes back in order. And it was at that moment that I came face to face with the Big Challenge: What is the way home?” This was how the puzzle was invented. He realized the difficulty of realigning the colors and it took him a month to finally figure out the puzzle. This became a huge success. Erno Rubik became the first self-made millionaire from the communist block. Cube fans were called Cubic Rubes, and they formed clubs to play and study solutions. Competitions arose from it and today some people can solve the cube in about 24 to 28 moves. Erno did not only stop at the cube, he later produced the Rubik’s Snake and is now working on computer games. This idea became a phenomenon and the popularity of the game is ever-lasting.

The reasons for its popularity are its iconic factor. It challenges people intellectually and it’s accessible to people from a around the world. People from different backgrounds and cultures are able to play with it and having that universal factor is powerful. Also, some believe that it provides as sense of order and stability in an uncertain world. No matter how long it take you to solve it, or how difficult it is, there is indeed a solution. Erno says that the main reason why 350 million cubes have been sold since 1980 is that, “People like its beauty, simplicity and form. It’s really not a puzzle or a toy. It’s a piece of art.” I agree with this. The colors and simplicity of the architectural design is indeed intriguing and nice to look at. It sort of has the same power as the Cube in Ann Arbor. Another thing to note is that the cube itself is not expensive, and even in times of recession, people can stay occupied and have fun playing with this toy. The Rubik’s Cube also attracts an array of age groups! From 5 year olds to 80 year olds, everyone can play it, which is another factor for its popularity. The game also generates a lot of emotions. From stress, to anger, to frustration to excitement and happiness, it has it all! This game has all the makings of a great game-strategy, competition, emotional factor, worldwide acceptance, and more!

 

 

 

4 comments
  1. amiesi said:

    The Rubik’s Cube’s appeal to me is similar to the appeal of mathematics. I can say with strong confidence that every mathematician understands the Rubik’s Cube’s appeal because the puzzle is so cleanly and hygienically presented, like modern problems of mathematics. Famous puzzles of mathematics bear strong similarities to the Rubik’s cube puzzle, for example, the four color theorem, which says no more than four colors are required to color the regions of the map so that no two adjacent regions have the same color. Even the twisting and turning of placing blocks are similar to each other: they resemble problems of algebraic geometry where the basic premise is smashing some kind of hypersphere and attempting to create holes in it. And the reason why the Rubik’s cube is so simplistically complicated is because it is actually an application of a branch of abstract algebra called Group Theory. Basically, all of the moves of a Rubik’s cube can be listed, and all of the positions of the colors can be summarized in a convenient list. Then, because the moves can only shift colors back and forth into different positions in simple ways, we can map out possible solutions.

  2. snbrown said:

    I do agree that the Rubik’s Cube can be seen as a form of art with its vibrant and lively colors. I am one of those people who would buy one and never touch it because I would not be able to fix back to its original form. I also agree that the Rubik’s Cuba can be frustrating and stressful. I personally have given up on trying to solve one but it would be a great accomplishment if I was able to. But at the same time it is not something that I would lose sleep over. In high school I had a friend who could solve one in a matter of minutes. I was extremely fascinated by the rapid movement of his hands and the flying colors. At the time I wanted to learn to solve a Rubik’s Cube but frustration and stress got the best of me. The Rubik’s Cube seemed unsolvable to me before I actually witnessed someone completing it, and now I believe that it is a game based on strategy, as any other game. And I would agree that it is an intellectual game.

  3. springsteen1 said:

    best post yet – I love this idea. I think the concept of a Rubik’s cube is fascinating, drawing upon the geometry and algorithmic structures and adding color is a great way to combine some of the most simplistic elements, and make them far more simplistic. Not that it’s easy – I have yet to complete this, but if you so desire, there are videos on the internet for solutions and completion tactics. That should say enough about its popularity and the ever-present desire to fix it; people spend hours solving and sometimes coveting, sometimes widely releasing their secrets. A plus, Enro Rubik.

  4. sgosain said:

    The Rubik’s cube, otherwise known as one of the great puzzles of the world, is still something that I use to get my brain moving. I actually have one in my dorm room that I use every so often to get my brain moving. It’s constant thinking, color schemes make it an art form that I was always taking advantage of as a kid and somehow up till this day have not completed, and do not desire to look at the cheat because I felt that would ruin the fun. I agree that it’s accessibility are what make it so drawing, and to be honest can’t really find many ways I would make it better. I do think that the cube has been ruined because of the cheats online. so many people know how to complete a cube just because they have looked online rather than putting in the work to solve it. Shockingly, after solving for so many years, I still find it entertaining to solve and is still one of the things i love to do when bored.

Leave a Reply

